Erics Blog

Just an average guys thoughts

Running……….Day 9

I woke up this morning, and no, that isn’t the beginning verse to 50% of the blues songs written, with a little soreness and tightness in my right calf. I also have some soreness in my left ankle. Nevertheless, I felt good enough to give it a try.

After five minutes of stretching, I took off on the normal path. As the goal for this week is to get the mile time down under six minutes,I picked up the pace. Initially, there was a little discomfort in the right calf, but after about 20 feet, that went away, sort of.

After the first lap, a quick check of the clock and the 1/2 mile was covered in 3:18! Not bad!

After a little bit of stretching, time for the second lap. Apparently, picking up the pace on the first lap, affected the second lap. Fortunately, the sprint at the end may have shaved off a few seconds and the run time for lap two was 3:41. The total time was just under seven minutes, which was a little disappointing as I was shooting for 6:30 total time. Oh well, there is tomorrow!

The good news is that after some more stretching after the run, there is no pain in either leg. Also, the hip and knee pain from two weeks ago, hasn’t returned.

Next week I will be adding wind sprints to the end of each run. Ten should be good to help with the endurance. Also, next week starts “Phase 3” weightlifting! I can’t wait for that.

So far, the total weight loss is 15 pounds. I am at the goal weight, 225 lbs., that I set for the Tour de Bar. I am sure I’ll gain a few pounds from that event, but by Wednesday of next week, I should be back to 225 lbs. and hopefully, on my way to 220 lbs. and below! 🙂

Till tomorrow………………………………………..

February 2, 2011 - Posted by | Running | , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Sounds great Eric.

    Comment by Rachele | February 2, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

