Erics Blog

Just an average guys thoughts

Running……….Day 10 a little break!

As I was getting into bed last night, I heard a “pop” from my left knee. Immediately, it was locked up and I couldn’t straighten it completely out. 😦 After some vigorous massaging, the knee finally straightened out. I have yet to figure out, how, the mere act of getting in and out of bed, can cause so many injuries! Welcome to 50!

After yesterdays run, later in the day after I performed an inspection, both legs were sore. Both calves as well as my ankles were sore and tight. I guess this means that the running is working as I am now incorporating all of my leg muscles, which I hope, is a good thing! I applied some liberal amounts of “icy-hot” to both legs and that seemed to help. On to todays run…………………..

As there was a fog advisory, I thought I might get to postpone the run. No such luck! Although it was foggy outside, I stretched and began the run. I made the entire first lap without breathing through my mouth. I would consider that a sign that the endurance is coming along well. On the other hand, after the first lap, I began to cough violently. This is a result of one of the many “infections” transmitted to Marshall, then to me, from his daycare.

This cough has been with me for at least a good month, and is beginning to get irritating. The good news is that I began spewing up all sorts of phlegm, which hopefully, is a sign that this latest infection has run its course.

As I have to cut the lawn today, I decided to cut the run short. It takes a good 1 1/2 hours to perform all the needed tasks to properly cut the lawn, edging, blowing, hedge trimming, etc., so that should make up for the missing  second lap. Tomorrow will be the first attempt to run the whole mile without stopping for stretching. I will see how that goes. Saturday will be an off day and Sunday is the “Tour de Bar”. Hopefully, the bike riding will offset the alcohol consumption. 🙂

When I got on the scale this morning it read 223 lbs., which is a little bit ahead of schedule, but I’ll take it. I knew the running would eventually start to effect the weight loss, and apparently, it has. I am hoping that the weight loss will make it easier to run. I would imagine that if I meet my goal, taking 40 lbs. off should help tremendously in my effort to participate in the Disney run in October.

As for dieting, I am still on the Atkins diet and have passed the induction phase. After this weekend, I may have to go back to the induction phase, but I’ll have to see what the test strips have to say Monday morning.

Until tomorrow…………………………………………..

February 3, 2011 - Posted by | Home, Running | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

