Erics Blog

Just an average guys thoughts

Tour de Bar Wrap up!

First, a special thanks to those that put this event together every year. You know who you are! 🙂 Putting on my golf outing every year with only 20 people is a struggle. Getting what appeared to be over 100 riders at this years event, all on the “same page”, must not have been an easy task. Job well done guys!

As I promised the wife, I sustained no injuries…that I am aware of! The adjustments made to the bicycle early Sunday morning, helped tremendously in the overall comfort of the ride. Those adjustments would be angling the seat back one notch and, straightening out both wheels. The wheels were bent as a result of more than one crash in the previous years, and I hadn’t completely adjusted the spokes until Sunday. They are just about as straight as they are going to get.

Now, for the bad news…Apparently, either the chicken wings at Brus room or some of the food at the party contained gluten. The likely suspects could be the chili or the Quesadillas. I woke up at what I was hoping was 5:00 am….unfortunately, it was, in fact, 1:30 am! I woke up with the sweats, bloating and a burning sensation in my stomach.

Then of course, Samantha decided that this would be the time to receive some loving from her Daddy, so, no sleep has been had and I have visited the bathroom three times already this morning! Friends often ask what the big deal is with gluten. These are the after effects when I ingest gluten, and, now that I have been “clean” for two months, the effects are intensified. Not to mention, it was the first time in two weeks that I had alcohol and the ten beers and five shots probably haven’t helped the situation.

Today will be spent  dealing with the effects of gluten and hopefully, it will be out of my system by Wednesday. The seven pounds gained in one day should also hopefully be gone by Wednesday. In the interest of accuracy, I stepped on the scale before I left yesterday and then again, this morning. The results were not pretty!

225 lbs. Sunday morning, 232 lbs. Monday morning. This is one of the uncharacteristic effects of gluten. Normally, true Celiac sufferers, lose weight or cannot add weight. I and as I have learned, others, gain weight..in record amounts very quickly.

As I will be hampered by the gluten issue, todays run will be canceled, which is unfortunate because the rest of my body, physically anyway, has no ill effects from the bike ride. Legs, back, none of my muscles hurt at all, so tomorrow I’ll be back to the running.

Until then…have a great day!

February 7, 2011 - Posted by | Family and Friends | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

